It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times

This morning my favorite band announced a summer tour.  THIS IS A BIG DAMN DEAL, PEOPLE!  I LIVE FOR BARENAKED LADIES!  I’ve waited almost a year for an announcement signaling a date I could make.  I’ve waited many months for the opportunity to meet up with some or all of my tribe.  I am out of my mind.   Out.  Of.  My.  Mind.  I have not one, but three concerts on my agenda!  Holy crap, holy crap, holy, holy, holy crap!

A month ago you wouldn’t be able to get near me on tour announcement day.  I’d be visibly fluttering, in constant movement and talking 193 miles a minute as I scour the internet for any Barenaked tidbit I could find.  So why was I not feeling the happy I’ve felt before?  It hit me at work as I was leaving for my school:  I felt bad feeling good.  For a brief moment, I was giddy me, screeching on the inside with the nervous tummy–when are the presales?  Can I access the server from my desk at work and order?  Should I download the Ticketmaster app?  Is my credit card updated?  My phone was off the hook.  Seriously blowing up off the hook.  There must have been over 300 messages between my tribe mates today–I love these girls, my Ladies ladies–and I think I posted one message.  (And not just because my employer blocks Facebook.)  Honestly, I haven’t even been able to read most of them yet.

I felt bad feeling so good.  In the grand scheme of my life, is this the most important thing right now?  Before me shouts OMG Yes! Yes!! Yes!!!  After me quietly wonders.  I felt bad feeling so good that I stopped my own happy for a while.  It’s a good thing I have the love and enthusiasm of my tribe to kick my ass into gear and remind me to take care of ME too in this.  My kid needs me to be happy now.  OK, I guess I’ll see Barenaked Ladies. . .  Three times. . .  In one week.  I’ll do it for my kid!

4 thoughts on “It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times

  1. You cant be a good mom if you don’t take care of yourself as well (how many times have you heard that one?!) But it is true! I’m sure your excitement was infectious and I’ll bet you got a few smiles out of your family for that yesterday. Am I right?

    And who are these crazy people blowing up your phone just because of a tour announcement? Get a life PEOPLE!!! Geezzzzz!

    BTW…I downloaded an app that is counting the days till that weekend. 113 days, 3 hours and 31 minutes to go!

    PS I am also pretty sure Ed planned this tour just for you because you needed it.

    Like

  2. What I was TRYING to say, was that it is absolutely fine for you to feel good. Moms need to take care of themselves before being able to take care of others (how many times have we heard that one?!) Not to mention I am pretty darn positive that your joy and excitement radiated down to your husband and both boys. Am I right? Did they smile a few times yesterday too? Thought so 🙂 so smile away friend, because it is hard not to smile back at someone finding joy in something. God I am good at preaching 😉

    But onto other things now….who are these crazy people blowing up your phone? Some people need to get a life.

    PS 112 days, 22 hours and 6 minutes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

