Setback

Not terribly long ago, but before, my husband was providing some care to his elderly uncle.  His regular caregivers were taking a brief holiday, and family members were asked to step up. There was left a note asking him to clip his uncle’s toenails. My husband called me from his uncle’s apartment with a firm, “Uh-uh, hell no.”  It became a running giggle among the family. 

Just now I was helping my kid take care of his after-shower needs, and started crying while clipping his toenails.  Will he too someday become the butt of the family’s jokes, the weird old guy everyone keeps fingers crossed to avoid in a few decades?  I can’t even bear the thought, that agonizing truth. Yeah, a setback today. 

4 thoughts on “Setback

Leave a Reply

