Who I Am and Why I’m Here

Most of the US is watching the Superbowl right now, and so am I, in my often distracted half-into what’s on TV, half-Candy Crushing, half-doing something else fashion.  I know the math doesn’t work.  Math is hard.

The big game is on, but what I’m tuned into is Blogging 101.  Last fall I wrote that I wanted to become a better writer, but was too much a chicken to do much about it.  Well, here I am doing homework.  And I’m kinda excited about it.  Take that, my inner chicken!  Before I read what today’s assignment was going to be, my husband actually asked me what my purpose in formally learning about blogging is.  I joked that I wanted to be an improved storyteller and maybe get discovered by someone, someone enamored of my little tale here and influential enough that I could make a fortune from the discovery this pretend agent makes (less their agent’s percentage obviously).  I’d retire from reality.  He looked at me quite seriously and asked again what I hoped to accomplish here.  He’s tricky, that one, making me think honestly when cracking wise is so much easier.  Then this assignment lands in my inbox, asking me to write what I’m about.  What am I about?  Think, Wendy, think.

Blogging 101 posed that one as well as the questions below, forcing me to reflect and remember, while looking ahead.  That’s a lotta meta for the first day of school, y’all.

Why are you blogging publicly instead of keeping a diary?  When I began last year, I didn’t tell anyone I started blogging.  Writing always helped me organize my thoughts and formalize my feelings, so the format fit.  Plus, I write like I talk.  After a short while though, I found it was easier to ask people to read my blog than to have direct conversations.  When our son was first diagnosed, I cried all the time.  All the time.  It was so much easier to say, “Here, read this,” than it was to talk.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?  Immediately, I wrote about my heart breaking after having learned my son has a progressive, neurological disease.  I haven’t much written about the disease itself as it turned out, and my breaking heart felt a little one-note, although it’s a recurring theme for sure!  I write about parenting, being the only girl in a houseful of boys.  Another frequently occurring theme is music, specifically that of my favorite band, Barenaked Ladies, and how concerts and song lyrics save my life.  I write about my friends, books, and random things that make me laugh.  I crack myself up, but in actual fact, I am nowhere near as funny as I think I am.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?  A year in, I’m not entirely sure who my audience is.  I’ve discovered other bloggers writing about MD, and their stories have helped me.  It might be good to connect with other moms in similar shoes, but they have to be able to handle a profanity or two.  Or three.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what do you hope to accomplish?  Oooh, I have no idea.  I hope to continue to work through my feelings about my son’s diagnosis.  I hope to entertain my readers.  I hadn’t previously considered what I wanted to accomplish–basically, I want not to lose my mind.  That’s a pretty lofty goal, but it kinda matters.  I don’t expect to find a cure or raise a million dollars or become a spokesperson for the MDA or find fame or notoriety.  Again with the tricky questions here.  Stay tuned.

One thought on “Who I Am and Why I’m Here

Leave a Reply

