Play Ball!

Evening two of the quote challenge finds me home alone.  It’s my little guy’s first baseball scrimmage game tonight (last week’s scrimmage got snowed out, not rained out, but cold and snowed out–yes, that happens here in Wisconsin in April).  I was already committed to a meeting at the kids’ school this evening, so after it and inhaling a bowl or two of cereal and picking up groceries minus saline solution–looks like I’ll be wearing the specs tomorrow–I’m home alone.  Being alone in my house is one of my favorite conditions, but I am missing being at the diamond.  Picture and text updates are a gift of modern times, but they don’t come close to being there.  Can I admit I’m a teensy bit relieved not to be a momsicle, out there freezing my keister off in the 38 degree Fahrenheit weather?  Only a teensy bit.  Really.

God, my kid loves the game!  

In the spirit of @thebaseballbloggess, I wish all you fastball-throwing, second base-stealing, catcher’s mask-flipping, sliding-into-home plate-beating-the-tag, bottom-of-the-ninth-walk-off-home-run-sluggers and fans a happy new year!

Baseball, it is said, is only a game. True. And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona. Not all holes, or games, are created equal.

–George Will

You could be a kid for as long as you want when you play baseball.

–Cal Ripken, Jr.

baseball-quotes-best-sayings-joe-dimaggio_medium

 

On my  Day 2, I nominate the following bloggers for the 3-day quote challenge

The Baseball Bloggess

Winnipeg Arts Hearts and Smarts

The Road to There

If you accept, post 1-3 quotes for 3 consecutive days, and nominate 3 fellow bloggers to do the same each day.

4 thoughts on “Play Ball!

    • Ha! Asshat status acknowledged, but he just nailed it with the statement. I felt it came close to what I think my kid feels about the game. Your response is 100 times better than my post!!

      Like

  1. Wendy, You shout-outted me on your blog … I’m blushing. (Really, I think I am.) Yeh, I’m conflicted by the George Will stuff, too. His book, “Men At Work” is supposed to be THE baseball book. I’ve read a zillion baseball books — give or take — and I just can’t bring myself to pick it up.

    I think I’ll take your challenge, although with challenges I usually take my time until you’re sure I’ve forgotten all about it. Then I surprise you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know. I tend not to lean his direction, but the quote is, well, it’s awesome–and even a busted watch is right twice a day! Take your time, I know it’ll be worth the wait.

      Like

Leave a Reply

