Please Move

One of my co-workers lost her father last night.  Upon returning home from church last evening, he found his garage blocked by a group of men, so he asked that they move.  They elected not to, choosing instead to stab this gentleman, a man in his mid-70s.  A man on his way home from his Tuesday evening Bible studies, a man likely wanting nothing more than to put his car in the garage, and retire inside for the evening with his wife.

Instead, his wife had to watch her husband bleed out in the alley from the stab wound he suffered, and watch too-late EMTs attempt to stave off the bleeding.  News reports say he died at an area hospital.

FOR WHAT?  FOR WHAT?  FOR WHAT?

At what point is murder one’s initial reaction to being asked to move aside?  Human life is of such inconsequential value to you that of course you stab an old man who asks/tells you to move?  What did you do after you stabbed this man?  Besides run.  Did you go home to sleep?  Did you brag?  Did you feel one single sliver of shame or regret?  Maybe the value of this man’s life is nothing to you, and that chills me in a way I will never find the words to express.  I hope I am wrong.

You’ll be forgiven in time.  My co-worker and her family are extremely devoted in their faith, so I know they’ll find room in their hearts for forgiveness.  She is a much finer person than I.  She has prayed for me and my son–prayer and her belief in healing through prayer are part of her essential make-up; if you know her, you know this.  I imagine prayer and her belief in healing through prayer will lead her to her own healing.  I don’t know how the families of murder victims come to this place of peace, but many do.  I’m not sure it is in my essential make-up to make that leap, and I hope to the ends of the earth I will never have to find out.

My city is killing itself.  My city is killing me.

For the record, an appropriate response to being asked to move is “Certainly.  Pardon me.”  Murder isn’t among any of the choices.  Ever.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/value/”>Value</a&gt;

18 thoughts on “Please Move

    • As of last evening, there were no suspects in custody. There was a group, so someone knows something–secrets are rarely kept in this world, and maybe that will help identify this individual. I live in Milwaukee, which of late, is simmering over. There are so many great things happening here, terrific people and cool things to do, but the image a lot of people have is not something any tourism board or Chamber of Commerce would be happy about. Extreme generational poverty, high crime, lack of sustaining jobs–those factors and many others are real, so I’m not denying there are real challenges. I just don’t feel I have the energy to rise to them today. Thank you again for your support, Sean. See–good stuff happening, good will extended by good people. . . Good will win.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Wendy I am so sorry for your friends loss. Our city is in such a poor state currently with such horrid violence. I missed an exit the other day and ended up opting for a really long way home to avoid a certain neighborhood. 1 year ago I wouldn’t have thought of doing that. Sadness

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have worked in the central city for 26 years, and until recently, have never questioned that. Every day I’m in places that most people avoid, which is not to say I’m a martyr or anything, just that I felt I had work to accomplish, and that it mattered. I’m beginning to wonder if I’ve made that difference, or if the difference I made for communication skills is enough to counter everything else in my students’ lives. It’s not; I know that. I don’t know what the answer for violence is–I never understood how violent acts/behavior solved anything. Still don’t, but I worry that we are going to self-destruct. What will it take before we implode? Wait, don’t answer! Thank you for your condolences–I have such great people in my corner, and I’ll bring you all along with me when I see her.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How horrible and my prayers are absolutely with that family! What this world is coming to is astounding to me every day. Listening to the news is a no no in this house. Terrible to think I’d rather stick my head in the sand but why, why would I fill my heart and head with all of the ugliness media postulates every day? Oh this poor family! My heart hurts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Amanda. I began tuning into news less and less around the time teachers became enemy of the state where I am. In the battle of being informed or being sane, sane took the lead! Too much ugly is right–I just read your “All The Pretty Things” post, and am trying to think pretty thoughts. Not exactly the same thing, but I think you get where I’m going with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I totally get it. (And I ordered my coffee cup!) Safety is a basic human need, and making my home as protected emotionally and physically for sanity’s sake-I’m rolling with it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Howdy Wendy!

    It is stories like these that just leave me heartbroken and despairing. What part of the murderer has died that allows them to kill so casually? It has put the “LESS” in senseless murder. You and your co-worker’s family are in my heart and thoughts.

    Huzzah!
    Jack

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How horrible and tragic … it just breaks my heart. Life is such a beautiful and fragile thing … and it’s always sad to lose a friend or loved one, but even more so when they are the victim of something so cruel and senseless. I don’t understand how anyone could do such a thing …

    Like

  5. My condolences to your friend, Wendy. I think she is a better person that I am, too.

    This was a senseless murder. A man just asked some people to move out of his driveway only to be killed like that? How does someone come to the point that they murder for being asked to be considerate?

    I sincerely hope the attacker is brought to justice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Senseless is correct–I will never be able to answer the how or why. I saw her being interviewed on local news, and her composure and grace were two things I’d never possess if I were in her shoes.

      Like

  6. Sometimes people say that they will forgive but not forget. As a Christian, the concept of forgiveness includes not only letting go of the wrong but also the resentment. What happened to this man is scary. The family has a difficult process ahead of them. I am glad that you know her. You are articulate, intelligent, and kind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

