These Boots Are Made For Walkin’

I suppose technically I’ll be wearing gym shoes, but “These gym shoes are made for walkin'” doesn’t have the same slinky rhythm as the Nancy Sinatra classic.  You know you were humming it when you read the title, don’t even try to pretend you didn’t.

Three months from today, Team Greater Than Gravity hits its fourth year as an MDA Muscle Walk team.  I was gonna write that we’re hitting our stride, but that’s too easy and a little too cheesy for my Monday morning palate.  So.

My big kid is #whyIwalk.

#whyIwalk makes this the time of year I hit you up to consider joining our Muscle Walk team.  Should you not find yourself in the Milwaukee area on April 29, you can join our team with your credit card.  And by “join” I mean support, and by “support” I mean donate.  I should really be more direct, shouldn’t I?

Who:  Me, my husband, the boys, various other megastar supporting cast members

What:  The 2018 Milwaukee Area Muscular Dystrophy Association Muscle Walk

Where:  Hart Park, Wauwatosa *new location*

When: April 29, 2018

Why: Because my older son was diagnosed with muscular dystrophy.  January 21, 2015 was the date that changed everything I thought I knew about parenting, and made me a reluctant member of the MDA “Family.”  I really don’t go to many of their family reunions, but WITH YOU, I’ve found the fortitude to show up for this one.  I’ve gained the moxy to ask, “Please help us raise money to fight muscle disease,” and through a series of small miracles (again, YOU), raised funds for kids and adults with muscle disease and ALS.

Click on the link below to join our team and walk with us on April 29.  I’d love to see you, and though I appear to be on the verge of a nervous breakdown, and am on the cusp of tears and/or full-on ugly cry the whole time, you showing up is a gift for which I’ll never be able to thank you sufficiently.  Click on the link below to make a donation via credit card if your boots aren’t made for walkin’.  Click on the link below to see last year’s tee shirt–it’s never not cool to see my lyrics printed somewhere for public consumption.  Click here so that other parents never have to hear the words, “Yes, your son has muscular dystrophy.”

And then share this blog post or reblog it, retweet this tweet, or share this Facebook post.  xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “These Boots Are Made For Walkin’

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.